Holey Mackeral : Christian Fiction.

I’ve just finished my first “Christian Fiction” novel, which wasn’t a bad read. The story line was reasonable and the characters were fleshed out. However, as a Christian Fiction virgin I admit to having been shocked when I came across my first quote from the Scriptures embedded in the story line. What the ? Honestly, I did raise my eyebrows on the train trip into work. By the fifth or sixth quote I had the hang of it and the eyebrows remained firmly secure.

IMG_0403

Photo from GOT – Game Of Thrones – which is pretty close to GOD

Christian Fiction. When did this even become a thing?

I know Food Fiction is quite big these days as is Chick Lit. In Australia we also enjoy Chook Lit, which are novels based on women in a rural environment. Lots of blue jeans, heaps of dust, and a kelpie or two. Is this an Australian phenomena I am wondering?

Having been brought up by parents who believed there were three topics never to be discussed in public – religion, politics, and sex – I find myself unable to write a review of this book.

I leave you with this instead:

A boy is selling fish on a corner. To get his customers’ attention, he is yelling, “Dam fish for sale! Get your dam fish here!” A pastor hears this and asks, “Why are you calling them ‘dam fish.'” The boy responds, “Because I caught these fish at the local dam.” The pastor buys a couple fish, takes them home to his wife, and asks her to cook the dam fish. The wife responds surprised, “I didn’t know it was acceptable for a preacher to speak that way.” He explains to her why they are dam fish. Later at the dinner table, he asks his son to pass the dam fish. He responds, “That’s the spirit, Dad! Now pass the f*cking potatoes!” (courtesy Laugh Factory.com)

One thought on “Holey Mackeral : Christian Fiction.

  1. Billis

    A few sayings come to mind, to wit..a breath of fresh air, being one of them. Just the right mix of piousness and irreverence..love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

