V is for Vegemite

Vegemite, the Australian sandwich spread, has a reputation much like Coriander (also known as Cilantro ) – people either love it or hate it. There is no middle ground.

I hail from a generation of Vegemite fanciers and grew up just like the song lyrics suggested – as a ” happy little vegemite”. My preference is to lay it on thick with oozing butter, and preferably on hot crumpets with a pot of tea. ( In the scheme of things , what’s a cholesterol issue? We all have a use by date. Thus my penchant for cheese and prawns too.) 

On the following scale I’m a serial killer.

Some trivia about Vegemite you may not be aware of:

  1. Vegemite is banned from some Australian gaols. This is to prevent inmates extracting the yeast to make booze.
  2. In the late 1930’s Vegemite gained momentum as a health product because of its high concentration of B vitamins.
  3. It became a staple in soldiers’ ration packs during World War 2. Posters hung up during wartime bore the slogan :“Vegemite: Keeping fighting men fighting fit.” 
  4. To drum up publicity around their new product, The Fred Walker Company launched a nationwide competition to name it ahead of its debut. Hundreds of submissions were collected, and Walker’s daughter pulled the winning entry out of a hat. The coiners of the name “Vegemite” were awarded a £50 prize.
  5. In 1984, a 66 cent jar of Vegemite became the  first product electronically scanned at a checkout in Australia at a Woolworths. 

Vegemite is more versatile than you realise. I add it to gravy when cooking, as well as stews and casseroles.

When my daughter was home for Easter following her first twelve months on contract in India all she wanted ( after prawns, bubbles and a *movie night) was a Vegemite Scroll.

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups self-raising flour, plus extra for dusting 
  • 80g butter, chilled, chopped 
  • 2 tsp caster sugar 
  • 2/3 cup milk 
  • 2 tbsp Vegemite 
  • 1 cup grated tasty cheese 
  • Step 1 
    Preheat oven to 220C/200C fan-forced. Grease a 12-hole (1/3-cup-capacity) muffin pan. 

    Step 2 
    Process 2 cups self-raising flour, plus extra for dusting, 80g butter, chilled, chopped and 2 tsp caster sugar in a food processor until mixture resembles fine crumbs. Transfer to a bowl. Make a well. Add 2/3 cup milk. Season with salt and pepper. Stir with a butter knife to form a sticky dough. Turn out onto a well-floured surface. Knead gently. Using a floured rolling pin, roll out to form a 20cm x 40cm rectangle. 
  • Step 3 
    Spread dough with 2 tbsp Vegemite, leaving a 1cm border. Sprinkle with 1 cup grated tasty cheese. Roll up dough from 1 long edge to enclose filling. Trim ends. Cut into 12 equal slices. Place, cut-side up, into holes of prepared pan. 
  • Step 4 
    Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden and just firm to the touch. Stand in pan for 5 minutes. Carefully transfer to a baking paper-lined wire rack. Serve warm or cold.

*I wont share the name of the movie. Just be reassured that I raised this kid well and she has exquisite taste.

#A-ZChallenge2024

Australian Trivia

25 thoughts on “V is for Vegemite

  1. I join you in the ranks that I must be a serial killer because I like a little piece of bread with my butter and jelly. nachos must be drenched in cheese, (cheese😍), gravy is the main dish to my roast. I am a condiment queen 😂😂😂💜💜💜 Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure if one can even buy vegemite here, although I did taste it once when my sister sponsored an exchange student and she brought some with her. Let’s just say, I wasn’t a fan. LOL Like cilantro, it’s an acquired taste. Too salty for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Vegemite jingle says “We all adore our Vegemite”. “Count me in even though I’m in the “no tastebuds” category. It’s one of my fave comfort foods, in fact I think I’ll go and rev up the toaster right now.

    We always take a tube or small jar overseas – my husband loves sharing it with people we meet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment